Healthy breakfast Maple Chia pots

After my mum bought Ella Woodward’s first Deliciously Ella recipe book for herself a year or so ago I have been a massive fan of her recipes. So after she published her second book Deliciously Ella; Every day, not so long ago I was very pleased and grateful to find my mum had bought it me for my birthday.

20160215_173829

What I like about this one is that it’s a lot more accessible for example if you are on a budget or if you lead a busy life and don’t have much time for shopping or cooking. A lot of the ingredients are what you would normally have in with the odd extra, they’re all easy and quick to prepare and will keep.

The first recipe I tried from this book was the Maple Chia pots. I’d been looking for something new to have for breakfast as I wanted a change from the usual cereal or toast but something healthy and not full of sugar. To be honest I was a bit apprehensive because I had already tried ready made chia pots bought from the supermarket and I hadn’t liked them at all. I can’t remember if it was the more the flavour or the texture. My memory of it was it being really cold, the texture being quite frogspawny and there not being much flavour so it could have been a mixture of all 3.

The Maple Chia pots were very easy to make, similar to the way you make overnight oats. The ingredients consisted of almond milk, shelled hemp seeds, ground cinnamon and ginger, almond butter and maple syrup which you mixed together before adding the chia seeds. I have a habit of recycling jam jars I hate to throw them away, which funnily enough she advises in the book. You add the mixture to the jars or any other containers you’d prefer and leave in the fridge overnight.

In the morning she advises you to leave it to become room temperature, which I did. And upon opening the jar and tasting it, I was pleasantly surprised. It wasn’t as frogspawny as I’d thought it would be but more of a thick chocolate mousse consistency but not as smooth. It had a nice mocha colour to it, the flavour was pleasant but not as sweet as I expected which is probably a good thing! I couldn’t eat the whole pot though, I had half of it and will be having the rest tomorrow! My mum had one too and she had the whole pot, she said she enjoyed it but took her a while to get used to the taste.

20160215_092910
The finished piece

 

So overall rather happy with it and I would definitely make it again. Chia seeds contain so much goodness! And shelled hemp contains a lot of protein which being a vegetarian/vegan I really need! I strongly recommend her books, she has a website (see link below) where she has a few recipes on, she also has a blog and an Instagram if you want to check her other recipes out. I will probably be trying others out and posting my thoughts on here.

Deliciously Ella

Leave a Reply

